Pennsylvania Immigration and Citizenship Coalition

Board of Directors

Mary Bellman is a Lecturer of Labor and Employment Relations as well as a labor educator, conducting education programs with unions and workers. Mary holds a Ph.D. and M.A. in Political Science from the University of New Mexico where her research focused on union organizing by women in Central America. Mary has many years of experience leading programs for workers, most recently at the University of Minnesota’s Labor Education Service from 2008-2014. She also served as program director for a non-profit in Guatemala coordinating educational programs with union women in Central America.  Her interests include popular education, labor-community coalitions, and global labor rights.

Michele Hamilton is Assistant Director of Shelter Services at the Centre County Women’s Resource Center an organization that provides services to survivors of domestic violence, dating violence, sexual violence and stalking. Michele lives in Centre County PA, and supports many local progressive and human service programs. She currently serves as the Vice President of PA National Organization for Women, and is a member of the League of Women Voters, Soroptimist International, Interfaith Initiative Centre County. Michele is the daughter of a Jamaican immigrant who was able to immigrate to the US after changes in immigration policy that came out of the Civil Rights Movement. Her family now lives in New York City.

Gabriela Jenicek is Manager of Language Services and Cultural Support at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, has been rooted in the interpreting profession for over 16 years. She earned her Master’s Degree in Interpretation and Translation for German, Czech and English at Leipzig University in Germany. In 2011, she founded her own company ‘Interpreter Training with a Purpose’ where she provides trainings for medical interpreters. She is also involved with the Pennsylvania Court as independent trainer specialized in Code of Ethics.  Gabriela is a board member of the Delaware Valley Translators Association (DVTA) and is actively involved at the International Medical Interpreters Association (IMIA). Specialties: Training and instructing, mentoring, presenting, legal and medical interpreting, effective communication, developing curricula and programs, networking

Mary Jayne McCullough is the founder and director of Global Wordsmiths, a social enterprise dedicated to improving language access for immigrants and refugees in Rustbelt Cities. McCullough is a veteran translator and interpreter who spent the first half of her career identifying ways to improve access to translators and interpreters for individuals with limited English proficiency. She believes in language access as a human right and works hard to develop innovative ways of helping people communicate in order to access the services they need.

Brooke Rothman is a Research Associate at Branch Associates, where she conducts research and evaluation for social programs being implemented by  nonprofit organizations, foundations, and government agencies. Brooke previously worked at at PolicyLab at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia where she worked on parenting support programs that aimed to address barriers to healthcare access, including assistance for parents with limited English proficiency (LEP) and low literacy. She graduated with a Masters in Social Policy from the University of Pennsylvania. She has worked on programs to improve language access for families with LEP, including organizing ESL classes for the immigrant community with the Passyunk Civic Square Association and a weekly ESL-themed radio show with Philatinos Radio.

David Ryan is Associate Professor, Department of Accounting, Fox School of Business and Management, Temple University.

Marla Soffer is Of Counsel at Galfand Berger, LLP. Marla graduated cum laude from the University of Pennsylvania with a BA in Urban Studies and Spanish. She received her J.D. from Temple University Beasley School of Law and has been practicing for over 30 years. She concentrates her practice in the areas of workers’ rights, safety, compensation and general personal injury and disability law. Marla serves as a consulting attorney with the Mexican Consulate in Philadelphia, is a member of Board of Directors of the Mexican Cultural Center and teaches an adult ESL conversation class at SEAMAAC.

Emma Tuohy is an Associate Attorney at Landau, Hess, Simon & Choi, where she represents businesses and individuals in a variety of immigration matters. Emma received her J.D. from Temple University Beasley School of Law in 2013.  During law school, Emma served as a legal intern at the Pennsylvania Innocence Project and the Pennsylvania Immigration Resource Center.  She also participated in a clinical at the Nationalities Service Center, where she represented low-income individuals in many immigration issues, ranging from cancellation of removal to asylum to adjustment of status.  After law school, Emma was a fellow at HIAS PA, where she represented victims of domestic violence and sexual assault in their immigration matters. She is a member of the American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA).  Emma received her B.A. in Global Studies from the College of William and Mary.

PICC’s Board of Directors is elected by the membership. Each director serves an initial term of three years, and is then eligible for re-election.